About Ecuador

Ecuador main information

Ecuador is a country located in South America, bordered by Colombia and Peru. It covers a total area of 283,561 square kilometers and has a population of roughly 17.4 million. The country is divided into four distinct regions: the Costa or lowlands, Sierra or the Andes, Oriente or Amazon rain forest, and Insular or the Galapagos Islands. The capital city is Quito, located in the Sierra region.

Ecuador has a diverse culture, influenced by its many indigenous peoples, such as the Quechua, Tzafiki, Shuar, and Achuar. Spanish is the official language, but many of the indigenous peoples retain their native languages. Ecuador is a predominantly Catholic country, and much of its culture is based on Catholic beliefs and traditions.

The economy of Ecuador is largely dependent on its main exports, such as oil, bananas, coffee, and cocoa. Tourism is also a major economic activity, with many people visiting Ecuador to experience its diverse culture and natural beauty.

The Galápagos Islands are located off the coast of Ecuador and are an important part of the country, both culturally and economically. The islands are home to a wide variety of unique species and are an important part of the global ecotourism industry.

Ecuador is a country rich in history and culture, and there is much to explore and experience. With its vibrant cities, stunning landscapes, and diverse wildlife, Ecuador is sure to provide an unforgettable experience.


The coast of Ecuador is located on the western side of the country and is bordered by the Pacific Ocean. It is home to a variety of beaches, islands and other attractions that draw visitors from all over the world. The coastal region of Ecuador is divided into three major sections, the Northern Coast, the Central Coast and the Southern Coast.

The Northern Coast is known for its long stretches of sandy beaches and crystal clear waters, and is a popular destination for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy some relaxation and tranquility.

The Central Coast is home to the port city of Guayaquil which is the largest port in the country and is a key trading hub for the region.

The Southern Coast is known for its tropical islands, lush rainforests and stunning volcanic scenery. The coastline of Ecuador is also home to a number of national parks and wildlife reserves, which are perfect for those looking to explore the country’s rich biodiversity. From the Galapagos Islands to the Los Frailes National Park, the coast of Ecuador has a lot to offer for those looking to explore its stunning natural beauty.

The coast of Ecuador is a great destination for both sun-seekers and adventurers alike, and is sure to provide a memorable experience.

Beautiful beach at the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador


The Sierra of Ecuador is a mountain range in the northern part of the country that stretches from the Colombian border to the south of Quito. It is part of the Andes mountain range, which is the longest continental mountain range in the world.

The Sierra of Ecuador is home to a diverse range of ecosystems, ranging from tropical rainforest to snow-capped peaks. The area is also home to various species of animals, including jaguars, tapirs, and spectacled bears. The Sierra of Ecuador is known for its rugged terrain, with many peaks and valleys. The highest peak in the range is the Chimborazo, which stands at an elevation of 6,268 meters (20,564 feet).

The Sierra of Ecuador is an important source of water for the country, with many rivers and streams originating in the mountains. It is also an important source of hydroelectric power, with several dams located in the range.

The Sierra of Ecuador is an important destination for eco-tourism, with several national parks and other protected areas located within the range. The region is also home to many indigenous communities, who continue to practice traditional ways of life.

Mount Chimborazo in Ecuador - South America


The Oriente of Ecuador is the eastern region of the country, known for its rich biodiversity and immense natural beauty. It is a region of stunning landscapes, with lush jungles, towering mountains, and winding rivers.

The Oriente is home to a variety of wildlife, including monkeys, sloths, toucans, and pink dolphins. It is also the traditional home of several indigenous peoples, including the Quechuas, Shuar, Achuar, and Siona. The region’s main economic activities are oil and gas exploration, tourism, and agriculture.

The Oriente is also an important source of timber for the country, with vast stretches of tropical rainforest providing a valuable resource. The Oriente is a popular destination for ecotourism, with many visitors coming to experience its natural beauty, explore its diverse ecosystems, and observe its wildlife. The region is also popular with adventure lovers, offering activities such as rafting, kayaking, and jungle treks.

The Oriente is a truly unique region of Ecuador, with its incredible biodiversity and stunning landscapes. It is a region that offers something for everyone, whether they are seeking adventure or just looking to explore the region’s natural beauty.

Bird watching in a 43m Kapok Tree tower viewing platform at Sacha Lodge, Coca, Amazon Rainforest, Ec


The Galapagos Islands are a unique and isolated archipelago of volcanic islands located in the Pacific Ocean, approximately 1,000 kilometers off the coast of Ecuador. The archipelago is composed of 13 major islands, 6 smaller islands, and numerous islets and rocks, making it one of the most diverse and biodiverse places on Earth.

The Galapagos Islands are renowned for their immense biodiversity and are home to a myriad of species, including many endemic species, such as giant tortoises, marine iguanas, and flightless cormorants. The Galapagos Islands have a long and rich history dating back to the 16th century when they were discovered by Fray Tomas de Berlanga. Since then, the islands have been explored by a variety of expeditions, including those led by Charles Darwin and HMS Beagle.

The islands remain largely uninhabited today, with only a few small villages and towns scattered throughout the archipelago. The Galapagos Islands are a part of the Ecuadorian province of Galapagos and are a part of the Insular Region of Ecuador.

The Galapagos Islands are a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and are renowned for their unique and rich biodiversity. A variety of wildlife species inhabit the islands, including over 2,000 species of plants, 5,000 species of invertebrates, and over 200 species of birds. The Galapagos Marine Reserve, which was established in 1986, is also home to a variety of whales, dolphins, sharks, and rays.

The Galapagos Islands are a popular destination for tourists from around the world, who come to marvel at the unique and diverse wildlife, as well as to explore the islands’ stunning natural beauty. The Galapagos Islands are also an important research destination for scientists and conservationists, who are working to better understand the islands’ biodiversity and to protect the fragile ecosystems.

Ecuador, Galapagos Islands, Santa Fe, mating Galapagos sea lions on the beach
Close up of a giant Galapagos tortoise.
Natural arch - Island of Fernandina - Galapagos Islands
Contact Us:
Copyright © 2022 Exclusive Ecuador, All rights reserved.
Abrir chat
Let’s start designing your travel experience.